Parasitic draw in 2000 Nubira

Car Audio, Controllers, Wiring, Seats, Carpet, Interior painting, and more...

Moderators: daewoomofo, Moderators Group

Kellie

Parasitic draw in 2000 Nubira

Post by Kellie »

Hi all,

Not a Daewoo owner, but I'm trying to fix one for a friend. I'm a certified BMW tech, so I'm pretty familiar with diagnosing complex electrical issues, but I'm not at all familiar with the systems and common quirks of Daewoos, so I'm hoping you guys might be able to educate me.

This all started when her battery died. Her dad put a new battery in for her and damaged the terminals in the process. A day later, the battery was completely drained. When I tested it with my Fluke, it was reading 0.00 volts. I went with her to exchange the battery and buy new terminals. I installed them and went on my way, and the next day, the battery was totally dead. I had her bring it over to my house where I hooked it up to a charger and completely recharged it. I hooked up my meter and found that it has a draw of 4.5 amps. CRAZY HIGH. I pulled each fuse and relay in the fuse box under the hood and the draw remained. I pulled each fuse in the box in the drivers side kick panel, and the draw remained. Are there any other fuses or relays that I'm missing? The only aftermarket electronic device I see in the vehicle is an "Interlock" device which is a breathalyzer that won't start the car if the driver has been drinking. I kind of suspect that this is the problem, but I think tampering with it can get me and/or her into big trouble. She called the Interlock folks and they swear that it can't be the problem, but I have my doubts.

There are no interior lights staying on. I tested the alternator and it's putting about 13.5 volts at idle (not that it really matters since the battery dies when the car is sitting). Is there something I'm missing? I'm assuming this isn't common since searching the forum didn't yield any answers.

Your input is greatly appreciated.
benzino
Expert