Matiz Losing Power

N/A tech, Cold Air Intakes, Spark Plugs/wires, Cat backs, Exhaust...etc

Moderators: daewoomofo, Moderators Group

jam butty

Matiz Losing Power

Post by jam butty »

Hi all,
I'm new to these parts and was wondering if anyone could help with my wife's sickly Matiz.

Recently the 800cc Matiz has started to lose power and stutter when accelerating. The problem is intermittent but appears to be worse once the engine is up to temperature. There are no lights warning lights on the dash but I've plugged in my fault code reader and it has shown just one code - P0172 (System Too Rich Bank 1).

I've read around the forum and concluded that the coil packs on these cars are less than reliable so I'm considering replacing that along with the plugs and leads. Having tested the resistance of the leads I found that one offered slightly less resistance than the other two but I doubt this alone is responsible for the loss of power or poor acceleration.

Does anyone have any other suggestions, particularly with respect to the P0172 code as this has confused me completely.

Thanks for reading my post and any help is appreciated!
Daniel
Expert

Re: Matiz Losing Power

Post by Daniel »

Have you checked valve clearance?

Cold
Intake 0.15±0.02 (0.0059±0.0008)
Exhaust 0.32±0.02 (0.0126±0.0008)

Hot
Intake 0.25±0.02 (0.0098±0.0008)
Exhaust 0.42±0.02 (0.0165±0.0008)

Unit : mm (in.)
woo99SE

Re: Matiz Losing Power

Post by woo99SE »

before you start tossing $$$ around Always! start with the cheapest things first.

Have you changed the engine oil at the recommended change intervals by Daewoo? is there any oils there(measure it).
is the air box filter clean?( engine air filter
How old is the timing belt?
When was the last time the fuel filter got replaced?
Are the spark plugs gapped correctly or recently replaced?
Does the car smells like rotten egg when it starts bogging down?--> clogged up catalytic converter(if equipped).
Is the radiator water lever where it should be?