Timing Belt install; cant get cams align

N/A tech, Cold Air Intakes, Spark Plugs/wires, Cat backs, Exhaust...etc

Moderators: daewoomofo, Moderators Group

woohoo2

Timing Belt install; cant get cams align

Post by woohoo2 »

First I would like to say I have plenty of experience working on cars with everything except engine & transmission internals and timing belts. The cost for timing belt install has always been worth the insurance for me. So I had my mechanic start to do the job for me but he's completely unreliable and even lies to me to get out of extra work when he doesn't have time. So I'm done with him and frankly I trust my work over any mechanic. I have two Lanos to do and a friends Reno so it is about time I just do it myself. The car is a 1.6l DOHC Lanos from the US and the belt did NOT break. It ran fine before starting the install. I actually got really lucky and accidentally got a glimpse of a tear starting in the gates belt at only 40,000 miles on it. I have the service manual and a crows foot instead of the special tool.

My mechanic removed everything and now I'm trying to install it. My problem is simple; I can't get the timing marks on the cams to align. They will only go into certain positions maybe 4-5 total. If I put them in between any of those positions and let go they will just snap into one of the positions. The right cam will go exactly where it is supposed to but the left is several teeth off. I could probably have someone hold it in position while I put the belt on and hope it stays but I haven't seen anything about having to do something like this. In fact the service manual says to align the cams before putting the belt on. The cams have not been removed and I aligned the timing mark on the crankshaft first. I thought maybe the crankshaft although lined up needed a complete turn or something but I've turned it several complete turns, lined it up, and tried to align the cam gears again with no success.