TEC Dilemma

N/A tech, Cold Air Intakes, Spark Plugs/wires, Cat backs, Exhaust...etc

Moderators: daewoomofo, Moderators Group

RobertCooper245

TEC Dilemma

Post by RobertCooper245 »

Hello, I am a newbie here at Daewootech, and I'm glad to be welcomed by everyone here.

I am new to Daewoos and received my first, a Nubira CDX wagon, as a gift no more than a month ago. When I got her, she had only 62,491 miles.

While perusing the service manual, I noticed that Daewoo listed the timing belt replacement at every 60,000 miles. Seeing as how I had no service records with the car, and therefore, no way of knowing when the timing belt was changed, I decided to go ahead and get it changed. I brought the new belt and water pump to an independent mechanic who has done work on our company vehicles for a while now.

After the job was done, I immediately noticed that the car was "jerking" when it was stopped at a light or idling. It wasn't doing that before I got the timing belt changed. I went back to the shop and asked them to recheck the timing of the engine and make sure the belt was properly replaced. He said that the timing marks were aligned and everything was done correctly, but he didn't know what was causing the engine to idle so roughly. His guess was that the EGR might be going bad, but seeing as how the timing belt service and recheck was costing me a considerable amount of money, I wanted to wait until I could confirm that it was the EGR and not something simple like a hidden vacuum hose leak.

I looked around the Internet and found a few members talking about the same symptoms that my car was suffering through, and that's when I found the Technical Service Bulletin that told about the Tooth Error Correction relearn procedure.